Hello, Anger, my old friend

“Weird Al” Yankovic probably makes a ton of money singing parodies of other peoples songs.   Sometimes something about a song’s lyrics catches me.  Sometimes I realize that I heard something that wasn’t there, and sometimes it sparks the creative creature inside of me.

I don’t think this would classify as a parody though, since my intent wasn’t to make fun of the musician.  It probably wouldn’t classify as any literary device that I know of.  Maybe I can make my own device, Dramatic Imitation?

This is my version of Simon and Garfunkel’s – The Sound of Silence

Hello, Anger, my old friend
I’ve come to walk with you again
Because a vision staunchly creeping
Left its poison while I was sleeping
And the vision
That is eating at my brain
Still remains
It is the sound of violence

In restless dreams I walked alone
Narrow streets with  broken stones
Beneath the shell of a street lamp
I turned against the wind and sand
When my eyes were stabbed
By the flash of a sudden light
That split the night
And began the sound of violence

And in the fiery light I saw
Ten thousand people, maybe more
People running without stopping
People dying without crying
People seeing things they can never share…
And no one dare
Disturb the sound of violence.

“Fools,” said I, “you do not know
Violence like a cancer grows.”
“Hear my pain that it might reach you,
Take my words that they might teach you.”
But my words like shiny blood drops fall,
And echo in the sound of violence.

Leave a Reply

